孔多塞方法

特別是, 在眾多的優惠方法, 還有那些決定一個所謂的孔多塞 (“CON-DOR-說”) 贏家, 其中許多建議, 因為我做的一樣好, 提供了在各種環境下的最佳民主決策:

“;一孔多塞的方法是,選舉的候選人的選舉方法 [誰] 由多數人統治將贏得對其他候選人全部配對, 每當候選人之一具有該屬性.

“; “;與該物業的候選人稱為孔冠軍 (命名為18世紀的法國數學家和哲學家讓·瑪麗·安托萬·薩科Caritat, 侯爵孔多塞, 誰擁護這樣的結果).

à孔冠軍並不總是存在,因為大多數的喜好可以像搖滾/紙/剪刀: 對於每一個候選, 可以有另一種優選由一些多數 (這個被稱為孔多塞悖論)...;

“;拉蒙·盧爾設計了已知最早的孔多塞方法 1299. 他的方法沒有選民偏好的快遞單; 而不是, 它有一個輪投票每個候選人的可能的配對...; 獲勝者是贏得了最配對的替代。“ - 孔多塞的方法, 維基百科

循環賽比賽

如果我們想像進行各候選人和對方候選人的選舉, 對通過對, 孔冠軍將候選 (如果有的話) 誰拍這樣的頭對頭選舉每名其他候選人.

這;是個“循環”的競爭. 每名候選人競爭一個一對一對所有其他候選人決定結果.

這種方法也, 也許更多的描述性, 所謂即時輪轉投票 (IRRV).

我們實際上沒有進行單獨選舉候選人每對組合, 當然; 我們可以簡單地通過讓每個選民根據自己的喜好來最多的候選人在單一選票做到這一點.

偏好週期

偏好週期 1

著名的“;悖論“; 是, 而任何個別選民表達他或她自己的喜好 (搖滾, 紙, 剪刀) 無法創建偏好週期 (搖滾, 紙, 剪刀, 搖滾...;), 不同的人往往有不同的偏好 (紙, 剪刀, 搖滾), 所以,這樣的循環 可以 一旦出現我們認為所有的選票一起.

不過, 命題仍然是一般選舉和補選的候選人, 如果有的話, 誰贏對所有其他個別候選人, 一對一, 將選擇最能接受的多數.

如果結果的偏好週期確實發生了這一說法變得更加困難; 對於偏好週期可能意味著不存在誰滿足這一要求的任何候選人, 進而 我們如何打破這個循環 會影響結果.

當我們有一個孔冠軍,但有涉及其他候選人的偏好週期, 如何打破這種循環只會影響其他考生的相對排名, 沒有總冠軍.

孔多塞“;完成“;

偏好週期 3

各孔多塞方法的主要區別在於他們是如何解決這些情況, 甚至包括回落至另一個系統,如即時徑流投票 (IRV), 甚至FPTP再次來解決這些問題. 這些都不是很好的配對排名, 在我看來, 但肯定沒有比啟動和單獨與FPTP結束更糟.

只要我們選擇的解決方案是明確界定,並看到一個合理的人是公平的,我們可以選擇任何一種偏好週期的方法, 仍然提高投票的民主回應遠遠超出FPTP的限制僅.

民主合法性

“;我們主張被稱為孔多塞法兩個以上的候選人選舉投票系統...;

“;這種方法允許選民提出他們的最佳選擇名單, 為了, 而不僅僅是一個單一的選擇. 信不信由你, 有很多爭議有關如何從這樣的投票挑選贏家. 孔多塞方法選擇誰將會擊敗任何其他的候選人,如果他們在比賽中是僅有的兩個候選.

“;這種方法是唯一的系統,可以讓多個類似的考生在同一場比賽中不傷害或互相幫助的機會. 然而, 關於孔多塞的方法主要關注的是,它可能不會產生一個不爭的贏家. 當它, 它的雙手向下最佳投票系統使用. 當它不, 領帶破協議用於, 有沒有保證,以滿足司法每個人的感覺.

“;主要的原因為我們的數據收集是看孔多塞方法是否會產生一個不爭的贏家在現實生活中. 該數據證實了我們的假設,.

“;在我們所有接受調查的不同樣品的, 孔多塞方法不僅產生了無可爭議的冠軍,但通常所有考生的整個無可爭議的順序...;“; - http://www.princeton.edu/~cuff/voting/

值得注意的是,對於一個FPTP選舉能產生多數勝者這個冠軍是推定孔冠軍以及, 不管有沒有機會表達其他的喜好. 然而, 正如, FPTP結果可望被扭曲,因為人們猜測的結果,並根據表決,以他們認為有奪冠的最好機會, 而不是投票了真誠的喜好, 和記住的是,該系統本身阻礙了額外的競爭.

下一頁: 孔多塞完成— 排,雙

分享按鈕

Condorcet Methods

In particular, among the many preferential methods, there are those that determine a so-called Condorcet (“con-dor-say”) winner, which many propose, as I do as well, delivers an optimum democratic decision in a wide range of contexts:

“A Condorcet method is any election method that elects the candidate [who] would win by majority rule in all pairings against the other candidates, whenever one of the candidates has that property.

” “A candidate with that property is called a Condorcet winner (named for the 18th-century French mathematician and philosopher Marie Jean Antoine Nicolas Caritat, the Marquis de Condorcet, who championed such outcomes).

A Condorcet winner doesn’t always exist because majority preferences can be like rock/paper/scissors: for each candidate, there can be another that is preferred by some majority (this is known as Condorcet paradox)…

“Ramon Llull devised the earliest known Condorcet method in 1299. His method did not have voters express orders of preference; instead, it had a round of voting for each of the possible pairings of candidates… The winner was the alternative that won the most pairings.” — Condorcet Method, Wikipedia

Round-Robin Competition

If we imagine conducting elections between each candidate and each other candidate, pair by pair, the Condorcet winner will be the candidate (if any) who beats every other candidate in such head-to-head elections.

It’s a “round-robin” competition. Every candidate competes one-on-one against every other candidate to determine the outcome.

This approach is also, perhaps more descriptively, called Instant Round-Robin Voting (IRRV).

We don’t actually have to conduct separate elections for each pairwise combination of candidates, of course; we can do this simply by getting each voter to number the candidates on a single ballot according to his or her own preferences.

Preference Cycles

Preference Cycle 1

The noted “paradox” is that, while any individual voter expressing his or her own preferences (rock, paper, scissors) cannot create a preference cycle (rock, paper, scissors, rock…), different people often have different preferences (paper, scissors, rock), so that such cycles can arise once we consider all the ballots together.

Nevertheless, the proposition remains that for general elections and by-elections the candidate, if any, who wins against every other individual candidate, one on one, will be the choice most acceptable to the majority.

If a preference cycle in the results does happen this assertion becomes more problematic; for a preference cycle can mean that there isn’t any candidate who meets this requirement, and then how we break the cycle will affect the outcome.

When we do have a Condorcet winner and yet have a preference cycle involving other candidates, how we break the cycle only affects the relative rankings of those other candidates, not the overall winner.

Condorcet “Completion”

Preference Cycle 3

The various Condorcet methods differ mainly in how they resolve these situations, even including falling back to another system such as Instant-Runoff Voting (IRV), or even FPTP again to resolve them. None of these is as good as Ranked Pairs, in my view, but certainly none is worse than starting and ending with FPTP alone.

As long as the solution we choose is well defined and is seen to a reasonable person as fair we can pick any of these preference-cycle approaches, and still improve the democratic responsiveness of the vote well beyond the limits of FPTP alone.

Democratic Legitimacy

“We advocate a voting system known as the Condorcet method for elections between more than two candidates…

“This method allows voters to submit a list of their top choices, in order, rather than just a single choice. Believe it or not, there is a lot of controversy about how to pick a winner from ballots like this. The Condorcet method selects the candidate who would beat any other candidate if they were the only two in the race.

“This method is the only system that can allow multiple similar candidates in the same race without hurting or helping each other’s chances. However, the main concern about the Condorcet method is that it may not produce an undisputed winner. When it does, it’s hands-down the best voting system to use. When it doesn’t, a tie-breaking protocol is used, which has no guarantees to satisfy everyone’s sense of justice.

“The main reason for our data collection is to see whether the Condorcet method produces an undisputed winner in real life. This data confirms our hypothesis.

“In all of the different samples that we polled, the Condorcet method not only produced an undisputed winner but usually an entire undisputed order of all the candidates…” – http://www.princeton.edu/~cuff/voting/

It is worth noting that for an FPTP election that yields a majority winner this winner is the presumptive Condorcet winner as well, irrespective that there’s no opportunity to express other preferences. However, as noted, FPTP results can be expected to be skewed as people second-guess the outcome and vote according to whom they think has the best chance to win, as opposed to voting their sincere preferences, and remembering that the system itself discourages additional competition.

Next: Condorcet Completion — Ranked-Pairs

Share Button