手頭的問題

所謂的簡單多數票的崗位 (FPTP) 誰投票得票最多候選人 - 勝.

聽起來不錯, 到目前為止. 這很簡單, 很容易解釋和理解, 攜帶方便,出. 和, 當只有兩個誰吸引顯著數票的候選人, 它工作得很好.

但是,只要我們看到第三, 第四, 甚至更, 候選人, 系統開始打破 - 在我們傾向於不再感得到反映的決定 將大部分, 但, 而, 選民人數最多的少數民族.

我們可以, 例如, 有一名候選人誰吸引, 說, 26% 投票, 而另一對夫婦他們誰可能分別獲得, 說, 25%, 也許圓這一切有四分之一誰得到 24%.

這裡的FPTP贏家, 最大的少數民族, 將是 26% 候選人. 沒有太多的任務, 真的, 當 74% 選民投票給別人.

這是一個人為的例子, 但它使點. 與省級和聯邦選舉中的真實經歷通常沒有這麼極端,也沒有如此緊密地聚集, 但問題依然存在. (杜維爾哲定律 可能是一個因素,這: 的傾向選民猜測的結果,並把他們的選票認為前面的車手給這些候選人提振在後面的車手為代價, 這將趨向於增加的擴散。)

如果我們知道更多的選民希望在這些情況下,我們可能會發現在最後給定的候選人真的是大多數人的真正的選擇是什麼 - 並且能夠證明這個人都滿意.

但是,如果沒有額外的信息,我們只是有一個微弱的勝利被批評和貶低,受到廣大誰, 總而言之, 感覺被騙了,被剝奪權利.

合法性和參與

它歸結為是FPTP是一個“多”系統 (單一席位多元性 (SMP)), 不, 嚴格, 多數決策系統. 有時候,我們得到一個明確的FPTP多數獲勝, 不管, 我們很確定, 但往往就意味著成功的候選人就贏得比太多少.

這種少數人的勝利,從決策的合法性和信譽減損. 他們還削弱問責的獲獎者的意識超越自己狹隘的選民基礎, 和 送入選民玩世不恭, 幻滅, 和過所有脫離接觸. 最後,很多人就是不刻意去投票了. 它可能不是唯一的原因, 但它是一個好部分.

加拿大選舉

加拿大參與選舉

對於 2008 聯邦大選的選民投票率 58.8%, 歷史最低. (再次在 2015 以 69.6%, 然而,, 由於高水平的選民不滿 - 從而提高參與度。)

在這些層面的參與,甚至堅實的多數勝利是合格選民,只有少數的聲音; 只有多個, 然後, 但很少條子.

和, 事情變得更糟糕: 在我們的西敏寺式系統, 獲勝比任何其他更多的席位一方, 即使這僅僅是一個多數席位, 一般形式的政府 (雖然, 在許多情況下,我們可以看到一個聯盟出現).

這點令我已經說明了問題, 因為我們也有在右邊跑馬圈地索賠的席位比例大的現實可能性執政是自己,但弱, 少數, 勝利.

加拿大大選

選舉 一年 2006 2008 2011 2015
道岔 64.7% 58.8% 61.1% 68.5%
選區 308 308 308 338
少數人贏

116

37.6%

120

38.9%

154

50.0%

205

60.6%

最強贏 選票 62.6% 82.0% 84.0% 81.8%
% 對符合條件的 40.5% 48.2% 51.3% 56.0%
最弱的勝利 選票 32.7% 29.2% 31.0% 28.7%
% 對符合條件的 21.2% 17.2% 18.9% 19.6%
管理 會員 124 143 166 184
少數人贏

67

54.0%

61

42.6%

50

30.1%

97

38.6%

這意味著政府可以在一個非常薄弱的​​民主基礎,確實建立, 看到自己負責充其量只是小眾, 斷開連接, 和功能聾市民大眾的聲音.

“;據認為,在平均只會有2可行的候選者下所述多個系統中的任何給定的選. 這是因為,而不是挑選誰是他們的真誠喜愛的候選人, 多數選民可能投票,而不是為感知領跑人,他們更喜歡那個, 因為這是最好的機會,他們有他們的選票作出了積極的區別. 這種傾向被稱為 杜維爾哲定律, 和被認為是如存在兩方系統的首要原因.

“;鑑於兩個主要政黨的候選人誰共同主宰選舉場的存在, 新考生高考最有可能拆分的主要政黨候選人的票的人,他們最有共同之處, 從而使其他候選人的優勢, 並直接違背的意願想成為新興的候選人的支持者.

“;這種“攪局效應”是對新的政黨和候選人一個非常強大的威懾力進入其中近距離的競爭已經被兩大政黨之間建立的種族.

“;這是 政治種族的競爭力和政治家的問責一個致命的問題. 標準是非常低的政治候選人,因為他們只需要優於單一其他可行的候選人, 而不是在可行的候選大場. 這種動態也鼓勵負面競選, and severely limits the range of political discourse…;“; - 多個; 基本投票方法綜述

要求

FPTP容易. 但 是不夠的,一個強大和民主的回應, 也不利於公眾冷嘲熱諷的問題, 幻滅, 穩定的政治脫開.

有許多替代品FPTP選舉. 他們都有自己的優點和自己的缺點, 而且沒有系統是完美在所有情況下和用於所有目的. 但是,我們並不需要普遍的完美; 我們只是需要更好的 - 更好 夠了.

我們需要一個解決方案,:

  1. 適用於開放, 公, 換屆選舉及補選覆蓋很大的範圍,並涉及大量選民;
  2. 可以分階段,以最小的中斷現有的選舉進程以最低的額外費用;
  3. 是透明的, 和易於解釋,並在其使用教育公眾;
  4. 使決策及時地; 和
  5. 可靠地呈現決策有理智的人會看到為合理,對多數人的意志.

推薦

在資產負債, 特別是在這個關鍵的最後一點, 所提出的解決方案是 孔多塞/排名,雙 方法 選舉, 和現在一樣, 成員現有選區.

我要求只是“夠好” - 孔多塞/等級,提供雙上, 肯定, 但更.

特別是少數族裔的結果正如不一定都與排名雙改, 雖然有些人會 - 但他們會在任何情況下不再僅僅是少數人的勝利, 而是大多數人的意志證明; 他們將作為無可爭議的任何選舉中獲勝可能 - 尤其是如果沿著這條道路,我們都能夠激發更多的參與.

下一頁: 在大多數人的意願

分享按鈕

The Problem at Hand

With so-called first-past-the-post (FPTP) voting the candidate who gets the most votes – wins.

Sounds good, so far. It’s simple, easy to explain and understand, and easy to carry-out. And, when there are only two candidates who attract significant numbers of votes, it works very well.

But as soon as we see a third, fourth, or even more, candidates, the system starts to break down – in the sense that we tend no longer to get a decision that reflects the will of the majority, but, rather, the largest minority of voters.

We could, for example, have one candidate who attracts, say, 26% of the vote, and another couple of them who might each get, say, 25%, and maybe round it all out with a fourth who gets 24%.

The FPTP winner here, the largest minority, would be the 26% candidate. Not much of a mandate, really, when 74% of the voters voted for someone else.

It’s a contrived example, but it makes the point. Real experiences with provincial and federal elections are typically not quite so extreme nor so closely clustered, but the problem remains. (Duverger’s law is probably a factor in this: the propensity for voters to second-guess the outcome and move their votes to perceived front-runners gives these candidates a boost at the expense of the back-runners, which will tend to increase the spread.)

If we knew more about what the voters wanted in these cases we might find in the end that the given candidate really is the true choice of the majority – and be able to demonstrate this to everyone’s satisfaction.

But without that additional information we just have a weak win that is criticized and disparaged by the majority who, all in all, feel cheated and disenfranchised.

Legitimacy and Engagement

What it comes down to is that FPTP is a “plurality” system (Single-Member Plurality (SMP)), not, strictly, a majority decision system. Sometimes we do get a clear FPTP majority win, regardless, and we’re OK, but too often it means that the successful candidate wins on far too much less than that.

Such minority victories detract from the legitimacy and credibility of the decision. They also diminish the winners’ sense of accountability beyond their own narrow voter bases, and feed into voter cynicism, disillusionment, and over-all disengagement. Eventually many people just don’t bother to vote anymore. It’s probably not the only reason, but it’s a good part of it.

Canadian Elections

Canadian Election Participation

For the 2008 federal election voter turnout was 58.8%, an all time low. (Up again in 2015 to 69.6%, however, due to a high level of dissatisfaction among voters – leading to increased engagement.)

At these levels of participation even a solid majority win is the voice of only a minority of eligible voters; a mere plurality, then, but a scant sliver.

And, it gets worse: in our Westminster-style system, a party that wins more seats than any other, even if this is only a plurality of seats, will typically form government (though, in a plurality situation we could see a coalition arise).

This compounds the problems I’ve already described, for we also have the real possibility of a large proportion of the seats staking claim on the right to govern being themselves but weak, minority, victories.

Canadian General Elections

Election Year 2006 2008 2011 2015
Turnout 64.7% 58.8% 61.1% 68.5%
Electoral Districts Number 308 308 308 338
Minority Wins

116

37.6%

120

38.9%

154

50.0%

205

60.6%

Strongest Win Winning Votes 62.6% 82.0% 84.0% 81.8%
% of Eligible 40.5% 48.2% 51.3% 56.0%
Weakest Win Winning Votes 32.7% 29.2% 31.0% 28.7%
% of Eligible 21.2% 17.2% 18.9% 19.6%
Governing Members 124 143 166 184
Minority Wins

67

54.0%

61

42.6%

50

30.1%

97

38.6%

This means that a government can be established on a very weak democratic foundation indeed, seeing themselves accountable to at best a small minority, disconnected from, and functionally deaf to the voices of the public at large.

“It is believed that on average there will only be two viable candidates for any given election under the plurality system. This is because rather than picking the candidate who is their sincere favorite, most voters are likely to instead vote for the one of the perceived front-runners whom they prefer, since this is the best chance they have of their vote making a positive difference. This tendency is known as Duverger’s law, and is thought to be the primary cause of two-party systems where they exist.

“Given the existence of two major party candidates who dominate an election field together, the entrance of a new candidate is most likely to split the vote of the major party candidate whom they have the most in common with, thus giving the other candidate an advantage, and going directly against the wills of would-be supporters of the emergent candidate.

“This ‘spoiler effect’ is an extremely strong deterrent against new parties and candidates entering a race where a close competition has already been established between two major parties.

“This is a fatal problem for the competitiveness of political races and the accountability of politicians. Standards are very low for political candidates because they only need to be preferred over a single other viable candidate, rather than over a large field of viable candidates. This dynamic also encourages negative campaigning, and severely limits the range of political discourse…” – Plurality; A Survey of Basic Voting Methods

Requirements

FPTP is easy. But easy isn’t enough for a robust and responsive democracy, nor does it help the problem of public cynicism, disillusionment, and steady political disengagement.

There are many alternatives to FPTP elections. They all have their own virtues and their own flaws, and there is no system that is perfect in all cases and for all purposes. But we don’t need universal perfection; we just need better – better enough.

We need a solution that:

  1. Is suitable for open, public, general elections and by-elections spanning large areas and involving large numbers of voters;
  2. Can be phased-in with minimal disruption to existing electoral processes at minimal additional cost;
  3. Is transparent, and easy to explain and to educate the public in its use;
  4. Renders decisions in a timely way; and
  5. Reliably renders decisions that a reasonable person would see as fair and responsive to the will of the majority.

Recommendation

On balance, particularly in respect of this crucial last point, the solution proposed is the Condorcet/Ranked-Pairs method to elect, as now, members to existing electoral districts.

I asked for just “better enough” – Condorcet/Ranked-Pairs delivers on that, certainly, but much more.

Particular minority outcomes as noted would not necessarily have changed with Ranked Pairs, though some would – but they would in any case no longer be merely minority wins, but rather the demonstrated will of the majority; they would be as incontrovertible as any election win can be – particularly if along this path we are able to inspire greater participation.

Next: The Will of the Majority

Share Button