Doesn’;道路候選人叔優惠票贊成中間?

它首先熊叫什麼意思“青睞”候選人? 其含義是,以優惠的選票賦予了不公平的好處,例如候選人, 不知怎的把拇指上的刻度來捏造代​​表他們的結局.

我把“贊成”或在這個意義上的“advantaging”的概念來表示:

  1. 對於一個給定的候選結果不同於“正確”結果; 和
  2. 結果是成功的用於給定的候選.

但很難解決任何有意義的方式這個問題不解決什麼, 事實上, 構成了“正確”的結果, 還沒有, 事實上, 乞討的問題.

如果我們把FPTP結果為基準“的正確性,“例如, 那麼產生的結果不同FPTP什麼是“正確”的結果存在分歧, 因此, 顧名思義, 有利於任何非FPTP贏家.

這裡的基本立場, 然而,, 是“正確”的結果就是最好的代表了大多數人的意志的結果, 這是誰是最首選的多數候選人, 或者換句話說, 如果存在這樣的孔冠軍. 由此看來, 任何時候孔冠軍存在,並且, 事實上, 勝, 沒有優勢, 並隨時孔冠軍存在,但未能贏得, 他或她是不利.

你從哪裡開始的,你最終達.

1. 命題

但是,讓我們看看這個命題, 反正: 中間的設施,道路的典型場景是,鑑於現場, 說, á 中間派 候選人, á 右派 候選人, 和 左派 candidate — for those voters for whom the 中間派 是他們的第一選擇, 他們的第二選擇,預計將成為之間的更多或更少的分 右派左派, 這依賴於中心的一側的給定的選舉人識別; ; 而當他們的第一選擇是要么 左派右派, 然後, 作為爭論還在繼續, 第二選擇是更可能的 中間派 在這兩種情況下.

命題, 然後, 在此上下文中, 是優先選票給出了一個優勢的 中間派 候選人.

讓我們考慮這從FPTP的觀點出發, 是維持現狀, IRV, 是一種廣泛使用的優惠方式, 任何方法確定孔冠軍, 表彰孔多塞的方法在這裡提倡:

  1. 要有 左派, ç 中間派, 和 Ř 右派 首先,選民偏好.
  2. 選票的總數, 整餅, 然後, 是: ; 該 + ç + Ř.
  3. 現在, 讓我們假設第二優先:

    1. 對於任何一個 左派右派 首先,選民偏好, 總是會 中間派;
    2. 對於 中間派 首先,選民偏好, 會分裂正是均勻的 左派右派.

2. 理貨表

對於我們的孔多塞的分析, 這些假設, 我們將得到一個理貨表如下:

候選人
乙多-
首選
比A
無-
偏好
更-
首選
比乙
á: 左派
乙: 中間派
Ř + ç
0
該 + ç + Ř
á: 左派
乙: 右派
Ř + C / 2
0
該 + C / 2
該 + ç + Ř
á: 中間派
乙: 右派
Ř
0
該 + ç
該 + ç + Ř

3. 投票結果

對於我們的 中間派 候選人, 有關於對稱 左派右派. ; 不失一般性,讓我們 R> = L, 和從上述帳簿得到:

多數
候選人
少數股東
候選人
多數
投票
少數股東
投票
中間派
左派
Ř + ç
右派
左派
Ř + C / 2
該 + C / 2
右派
中間派
Ř
該 + ç

Ř 是多數, 這意味著它有超過一半的餅, 所以其他兩個一起組成了餅的其餘部分, 和必須小於 Ř, 因此,: ; R>Ł + ç

右派 勝在他或她出現全部配對, 因而是孔冠軍.

多數
候選人
少數股東
候選人
多數
投票
少數股東
投票
中間派
左派
Ř + ç
右派
左派
Ř + C / 2
該 + C / 2
中間派
右派
該 + ç
Ř

凡沒有的 , ç, 或 Ř 是多數, 任意兩個必須累計超過其他, 即: ; 如果每個小於一半的餅, 其他兩個在一起必須考慮它的大部分.

特別是, 否 ç 是多數: 該 + ç>研究, 和 Ř + ç> L;

中間派 勝在他或她出現全部配對, 因而是孔冠軍.

如果 L = R, 我們得到 右派左派, 這將創建一個墊底的領帶, 但對無效果 中間派 作為孔冠軍.

(我們可以得到 Ł>研究 情況下通過交換 Ř 與. 左派 與. 右派 在上述; ; 這都沒有區別我們的考慮 中間派 結果。)

4. 分析

現在, 考慮涉及上述候選人選舉:

  1. 在任何情況下,我們獲得了一大部分的偏好 (案例 1, 與案例 2 中間派-大多數變種), 第一優先多數的候選人是孔冠軍在所有情況下, 而這個人選總是獲勝,我們是否使用FPTP, IRV, 或任何孔多塞的方法; 任何人沒有任何優勢.
  2. 在這裡我們並沒有第一偏好多數 (案例 2, 非變體多數), 我們不是第一偏好多個, or two or more candidates are tied for first-preference first place ; 無論, 如圖所示, 這是直接的 中間派 is the Condorcet winner ; 誰贏得大選?

    1. 通過FPTP, 與第一偏好第一名的領帶沒有贏家; ; 不利的 中間派. ; 與第一偏好多個, 多個候選勝: ; 如果是這樣的 中間派, 任何人沒有任何優勢; ; 否則吃虧的 中間派.
    2. 通過通氣, 如果碰巧也成為第一優先墊底的領帶, 有含糊不清是誰,以消除, 但, 在任何情況下: ; 如果我們消除 中間派 無論是另一名候選人贏得, 或者有一搭, 這兩個不利的 中間派; ; 如果我們不排除 中間派, 該 中間派 勝, 與任何人沒有任何優勢.
    3. 用任何方法孔多塞, 該 中間派 勝; ; 任何人沒有任何優勢.

5. 結論

所有說, 然後, 與第一給定- 和第二優先級的假設, 其中最強烈的支持原命題, 命題失敗: ; 雖然證明不利的 中間派 在一些非孔多票, 沒有任何優勢的 中間派 由於任一優惠辦法, 是否通氣, 或任何孔多塞的方法.

這個結論當然掌握在我們規定的“有利於標準,“這, 正如, 不迴避問題, as they themselves rest on our fundamental thesis that the Condorcet winner is the “correct” outcome. ; Where you start is where you end-up. ; But it’;很難看出,標準的基於, 說, FPTP, 會比較合適, 或更合理.

是真的, 在任何情況下, 在這些情況下的 中間派 wins by a preferential vote in some cases where he or she would lose with FPTP. ; But we should expect differences — differences are the very point of the exercise; ; 如果有, 事實上, no differences in outcomes between the two systems there’d be little point in changing. ; 僅僅區別並不意味著任何優勢或劣勢.

第二猜測選民的偏好在這個簡單的方法的危險性進一步透露了一點卑詩省的歷史:

“對於 1952 省競選, 自由保​​守省政府聯合政府​​交換的選舉制度,從第一過去崗位的替代投票. 該聯盟是緊張社會主義合作社聯邦聯盟的日益普及 (新民主黨的前身). 並期望保守派選民將列出自由主義者作為他們的第二選擇,反之亦然, the two parties believed they’;ð獲得足夠票數它們之間繼續執政。“ - 卑詩省社會信用黨

在這裡,, 為說明, 是一種期望,新的優先投票權制度賦予的優勢,中間落的道路候選人, 阻礙從一個暴發戶感知威脅, 非中間的非公路, 對手. 相反,, 它敞開了大門場上的“其他”方完全不同的, 明顯被低估, 1:

“......; much to the Socreds’; 自己都感到驚訝, 黨獲取了足夠的第二選擇票,成為與立法機關的最大黨 19 席, 比CCF多一個, while the Liberals and Conservatives were practically wiped out…;.“ - 卑詩省社會信用黨

在選民偏好簡單的模型假設是危險的確實. 這些假設本身存在根本性的缺陷: 政治面貌不平凡的一維, 通過中心向右邊測距中從左側的直線. 它是多維, 和, 根據實際的當事人和他們的領導人和平台, 以及各式各樣的問題和立場不符合一個統一的一維模式, 選民的第二次及以後的選擇遠比一個簡單的左中右的情況會假設更為複雜和不可預測.

但是,讓我們現在就來看看這個問題以不同的方式: 讓我們回到什麼“中間道路”是指在這種情況下.

投票的目的是使集體決定的事情,是有意義的集體決定. 對於這樣的問題,, 當一群民主決策是必需的, 民主的理想是“多數人的意志”為準. 一旦我們確定什麼是意志, 當選擇確實有這樣廣泛的吸引力也不會顯得“極端,“或”激進“它會, 根據定義,幾乎, 被認為是“在路中間。”

可以說, 多數人的意志 “中間道路”。在這種情況下, 如果是優惠票贊成一個“中間道路”的確是真實的結果 - 這是不是它的控訴, 而是它的點.

書籤 永久鏈接.

Doesn’t preferential voting favour middle of the road candidates?

It first bears asking what does it mean to “favour” a candidate? The implication is that a preferential ballot confers an unfair benefit to such candidates, somehow putting a thumb on the scale to fudge the outcome on their behalf.

I take the notion of “favouring” or “advantaging” in this sense to mean:

  1. the outcome for a given candidate differs from the “correct” result; and
  2. the outcome is successful for the given candidate.

But it’s hard to address this question in any meaningful way without settling on what, in fact, constitutes a “correct” result, without also, in fact, begging the question.

If we take the FPTP result as the benchmark for “correctness,” for example, then anything that produces a different result than FPTP is a divergence from the “correct” result, and thus, by definition, favours any non-FPTP winner.

The underlying position here, however, is that the “correct” result is the result that best represents the will of the majority, this being the candidate who is most-preferred by that majority, or in other words, the Condorcet winner if such exists. By this token, any time the Condorcet winner exists and, in fact, wins, there is no advantage, and any time the Condorcet winner exists but fails to win, he or she is disadvantaged.

Where you start is where you end-up.

1. Proposition

But let’s look at the proposition, anyway: the typical middle-of-the-road scenario is that given a field of, say, a centrist candidate, a rightist candidate, and a leftist candidate – for those voters for whom the centrist is their first choice, their second choices would be expected to be more or less split between the rightist and the leftist, depending upon which side of center the given voter identifies; and when their first choice is either the leftist or the rightist, then, as the argument goes, their second choice is more likely the centrist in both cases.

The proposition, then, in this context, is that a preferential ballot gives an advantage to the centrist candidate.

Let us consider this from the standpoint of FPTP, being the status quo, IRV, being a widely used preferential method, and any method that determines a Condorcet winner, in recognition of the Condorcet approach advocated here:

  1. Let there be L leftist, C centrist, and R rightist first-preference voters.
  2. The total number of ballots, the whole pie, then, is: L + C + R.
  3. Now, let us assume that the second-preference:

    1. For either a leftist or rightist first-preference voter, will always be centrist;
    2. For centrist first-preference voters, will split exactly evenly between the leftist and the rightist.

2. Tally Sheet

For our Condorcet analysis, with these assumptions, we will get a tally sheet as follows:

Candidate
Pairs
B more-
preferred
than A
No-
Preference
A more-
preferred
than B
Total
A: leftist
vs
B: centrist
R + C
0
L
L + C + R
A: leftist
vs B: rightist
R + C/2
0
L + C/2
L + C + R
A: centrist
vs B: rightist
R
0
L + C
L + C + R

3. Voting Outcomes

With respect to our centrist candidate, there is symmetry regarding the leftist and rightist. Without loss of generality let us take R >= L, and from the above tally we get:

Majority
Candidate
Minority
Candidate
Majority
Vote
Minority
Vote
centrist
leftist
R + C
L
rightist
leftist
R + C/2
L + C/2
rightist
centrist
R
L + C

R is a majority, which means it’s more than half the pie, so the other two together make up the rest of the pie, and must be less than R, thus: R > L + C

The rightist wins all pairings in which he or she occurs, and thus is the Condorcet winner.

Majority
Candidate
Minority
Candidate
Majority
Vote
Minority
Vote
centrist
leftist
R + C
L
rightist
leftist
R + C/2
L + C/2
centrist
rightist
L + C
R

Where none of L, C, or R is a majority, any two must total more than the other, i.e.: if each is less than half the pie, the other two together must account for the majority of it.

In particular, whether or not C is a majority: L + C > R, and R + C > L;

The centrist wins all pairings in which he or she occurs, and thus is the Condorcet winner.

If L = R, we get rightistleftist, which would create a last-place tie, but has no effect on the centrist as the Condorcet winner.

(We can get the L > R case by exchanging R vs. L and leftist vs. rightist in the above; it makes no difference to our consideration of centrist outcomes.)

4. Analysis

Now, considering an election involving the above candidates:

  1. In any case where we get a first-preference majority (Case 1, and Case 2 centrist-majority variant), the first-preference majority candidate is the Condorcet winner in all cases, and this candidate always wins whether we use FPTP, IRV, or any Condorcet method; no advantage to anyone.
  2. Where we don’t have a first-preference majority (Case 2, non-majority variant), we have either a first-preference plurality, or two or more candidates are tied for first-preference first place. Regardless, as shown, it follows directly that the centrist is the Condorcet winner. Who wins the election?

    1. By FPTP, with a first-preference first-place tie there is no winner; disadvantage to the centrist. With a first-preference plurality, the plurality candidate wins: if this is the centrist, no advantage to anyone; otherwise disadvantage to the centrist.
    2. By IRV, if there happens also to be a first-preference last-place tie, there is ambiguity about who to eliminate, but, in any event: if we eliminate the centrist either another candidate wins, or there is a tie, both of which disadvantage the centrist; and if we don’t eliminate the centrist, the centrist wins, with no advantage to anyone.
    3. By any Condorcet method, the centrist wins; no advantage to anyone.

5. Conclusion

All said, then, with the given first- and second-preference assumptions, which most strongly support the original proposition, the proposition fails: while there is demonstrated disadvantage to the centrist in some non-Condorcet votes, there is no advantage whatsoever to the centrist due to either preferential approach, whether IRV, or any Condorcet method.

This conclusion rests of course on our stated criteria of “favouring,” which, as noted, do beg the question, as they themselves rest on our fundamental thesis that the Condorcet winner is the “correct” outcome. Where you start is where you end-up. But it’s hard to see that a standard based upon, say, FPTP, would be more appropriate, or more reasonable.

It is true, in any event, that in these scenarios the centrist wins by a preferential vote in some cases where he or she would lose with FPTP. But we should expect differences – differences are the very point of the exercise; if there were, in fact, no differences in outcomes between the two systems there’d be little point in changing. Mere difference does not imply either advantage or disadvantage.

The danger of second-guessing voter preferences in this simplistic way is further revealed in a bit more BC history:

“For the 1952 provincial election, the Liberal-Conservative provincial coalition government switched the electoral system from first past the post to the Alternative Vote. The coalition was nervous about the growing popularity of the socialist Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (forerunner of the NDP). With the expectation that Conservative voters would list the Liberals as their second choice and vice versa, the two parties believed they’d garner enough votes between them to stay in power.” — BC Social Credit Party

Here, as stated, was an expectation that the new preferential-voting system would confer advantage to middle-of-the-road candidates, thwarting a perceived threat from an upstart, non-middle-of-the-road, rival. Instead, it opened the door on the “other” side of the field to a completely different, evidently under-appreciated, one:

“… much to the Socreds’ own surprise, the party garnered enough second preference votes to become the largest party in the legislature with 19 seats, one more than the CCF, while the Liberals and Conservatives were practically wiped out….” — BC Social Credit Party

Presuming upon a simplistic model of voter preferences is perilous indeed. The assumptions themselves are fundamentally flawed: the political landscape is not trivially one-dimensional, ranging in a straight line from the left through the center to the right. It is multi-dimensional, and, depending on the actual parties and their leaders and platforms, as well as the sundry issues and positions that don’t fit a uniform one-dimensional paradigm, voters’ second and subsequent choices are far more complex and unpredictable than a simplistic left-center-right scenario would suppose.

But let’s now look at the question in a different way: let us go back to what “middle of the road” means in this context.

Voting is about making collective decisions about things that it makes sense to decide collectively. For such questions, when a democratic decision of a group is required, the democratic ideal is that “the will of the majority” should prevail. Once we have determined what that will is, when a choice does indeed have such broad appeal it won’t seem “extreme,” or “radical” it will, pretty much by definition, be considered “middle of the road.”

Arguably, the will of the majority is the “middle of the road.” In this context, if it is indeed true that preferential voting favours a “middle of the road” result – this is not an indictment of it, but rather the point of it.

Bookmark the permalink.