是排名 - 雙最好的孔多塞系統?

排名 - 雙真的是最好的孔多塞系統?

如果有一個孔冠軍就任何特定選舉, 每孔多塞的方法將決定這個相同的贏家. 他們都是不如對方, 這一點.

不同的方法不同, 然而,, 他們是如何解決的情況下沒有一個孔冠軍, 這是說當沒有候選人誰贏都成對的巔峰對決對其他候選人. 在實踐中這種情況下,可以說是罕見的, 但, 可以說是, 仍時有發生, 並且很容易構造這樣的場景.

我認為這特別的一個,一旦我們解決了使用孔多塞的方法來評估我們的選舉的區別使用,是目前不太重要. 雖然它們之間存在的所有細微差別, 具有稍微不同的數學性質, 在實際應用中,必須選擇那些易於可視化和理解由非理論的方法, 而直接實施, 無論是在法規和隨之而來的技術.

在此基礎上,我打折“混合型”的解決方案,如孔多塞 - 黑爾 (孔多塞,通氣), 而這種, 因為它們通常涉及兩種不同的計票系統: 如果孔冠軍被發現, 我們是很好用的孔多塞理貨, 如果沒有,我們計算並再次理貨, 根據IRV (例如). 不是什麼大不了的事,如果我們用計算機計算, 但我不買,到第二個的想法, 不同的理貨時,有一些工作良好,沒有良好的制度.

最後它來到了, 我估計, 以排名配對與Shultze, 並在平衡我覺得對的排名更容易跟隨, 這就是為什麼我建議在這個時候排名配對. 但排名對和Shultze將得到相同的結果“的大部分時間。”

我也搞一個電子郵件談話 博士. 尼古拉斯·泰德曼, 經濟系, 弗吉尼亞理工學院和州立大學, 的排名,雙法的鼻祖,並在投票理論領域的突出貢獻者, 我感謝他的耐心與我交談.

博士. 泰德曼建議我應該考慮極小, 以及. 極小的數學很容易, 但同時,簡單的數學, 一旦我們擁有了孔多塞理貨, 這不是我的說服力也沒有清晰的排名雙.

這也 (在有限的情況下,) 失敗的“克隆人的獨立性”的標準, 這意味著該結果可以是對的“類似”的候選的存在敏感, 但正如泰德曼醫生建議, 根據他的經驗與選民的排名在選票和調查模式: 如果我們考察五十萬五候選比較基於實際的選舉或調查,超過“我給你錢,甚至 1,000 選民, 我們不會找到一個單一的例子,其中排名配對產生了不同的結果比極小, 雖然我會同意,排名配對會處理這樣的情況下,在一個更令人滿意的方​​式. 如果你要我帶賭注的另一面, 你需要給我的,至少賠率 10 1。“

他建議進一步說: “如果有越來越沒有問題的選民接受的排名雙複雜, 這是更好的選擇. 但是,如果他們在複雜性放水, 然後極小極大可能是最好的,是可以實​​現的。“

總而言之, 然後, 我提議排名對是要走的路在這裡, 我已經通過了相應的細節工作. 不過,我會仍然充分的內容與任何其他孔多塞的方法, 如果它被看作是更容易, 雖然一些細節會改變, 這種變化不會過高.

書籤 永久鏈接.

Is Ranked-Pairs the best Condorcet system?

Is Ranked-Pairs really the best Condorcet System?

If there is a Condorcet winner in respect of any given election, every Condorcet method will determine this same winner. They’re all as good as each other, at this point.

The different methods differ, however, in how they resolve cases where there is not a Condorcet winner, which is to say when there is no candidate who wins all the pairwise match-ups against the other candidates. In practice these cases are arguably infrequent, but, arguably, still occur, and it is easy to construct such scenarios.

I suggest that once we’re resolved to use a Condorcet method to evaluate our elections the distinction of which particular one to use is of far lesser importance. Though there are fine distinctions among them all, with slightly different mathematical properties, in practical terms it is essential to pick a method that is easily visualized and understood by non-theorists, and straightforward to implement, both in legislation and any attendant technology.

On this basis I discounted “hybrid” solutions such as Condorcet-Hare (Condorcet-IRV), and such, since they typically involve two distinct tallying systems: if a Condorcet winner is found, we’re good with the Condorcet tally, and if not we count and tally again, according to IRV (e.g.). Not a big deal if we’re counting by computer, but I don’t buy-in to the idea of a second, different tally when there are good systems that work well without.

In the end it came down, in my estimation, to Ranked Pairs vs Shultze, and on balance I find that Ranked Pairs is easier to follow, which is why I propose Ranked Pairs at this time. But Ranked Pairs and Shultze will give the same results “most of the time.”

I also engaged an email conversation with Dr. Nicolaus Tideman, Department of Economics, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, the originator of the Ranked-Pairs method and a prominent contributor in the field of voting theory, and I thank him for his patience in conversing with me.

Dr. Tideman suggested that I should consider Minimax, as well. Minimax is mathematically very easy, but while mathematically simple, once we have the Condorcet tally, it is not to me as persuasive nor as clear as Ranked Pairs.

It also (in limited circumstances) fails the “Independence of Clones” criterion, which means that the outcome can be sensitive to the presence of “similar” candidates, though as Dr Tideman advises, based on his experience with patterns of voters rankings in ballots and surveys: “I would give you even money that if we examined half a million five-candidate comparisons based on real elections or surveys with more than 1,000 voters, we would not find a single example where Ranked Pairs produced a different result than Minimax, though I would agree that Ranked Pairs would handle such a case in a more satisfying way. And if you wanted me to take the other side of the bet, you would need to give me odds of at least 10 to 1.”

He advised further that: “If there is no problem with getting voters to accept the complexity of Ranked Pairs, it is the better choice. But if they balk at the complexity, then Minimax may be the best that is attainable.”

All in all, then, I propose Ranked Pairs is the way to go here, and I have worked through the details accordingly. But I would be nevertheless amply content with any other Condorcet method, if it were seen as more likely, and while some of the details would change, such changes would not be exorbitant.

Bookmark the permalink.