孔多塞詳情

1. 投票

投票的建議形式如下所示 (如在討論 它是如何工作 例如):


1
←→首選
2

3
至少
4
Α]
[黨 1]
[]
[]
[]
[]
Beta版
[黨 3]
[]
[]
[]
[]
伽瑪
獨立
[]
[]
[]
[]
三角洲
[黨 2]
[]
[]
[]
[]

  • 對於所有選票的候選人將進行相同的排序,但在訂單中隨機得到該選區“確定;Š選舉主任.

1
←→首選
2
3
至少
4
首選
Α
[黨 1]
[]
[]
[]
[]
[黨 1]
[]
Beta版
[黨 3]
[]
[]
[]
[]
[黨 2]
[]
伽瑪
獨立
[]
[]
[]
[]
[黨 3]
[]
三角洲
[黨 2]
[]
[]
[]
[]

  • 對於所有選票的候選人將進行相同的排序,但在訂單中隨機得到該選區“確定;Š選舉主任.
  • 對於首選黨部, 那裡是沒有好處的隨機政黨名稱, 並給予他們應責令相同的所有選票全部選區, 一個升序字母順序建議.

這樣的投票將與光學閱讀器兼容的方法, and can be adjusted as needed to accommodate particular optical-reader technology as might be employed, 還可以手動計算以及環境令.

相反,標誌著只有一名候選人的 (與 X 或勾號標記, 作為FPTP) 任何數量的考生可以通過填寫,在適當的方列代表選民的偏好被標記 (無每位考生超過一平方).

  • 這些將被解釋為候選人被標記為與給定的優先級列相關聯的序偏愛數.
  • 所有考生不需要標出. 彷彿打上選票最低的偏好選項無人盯防的考生將被視為.
  • 具有較低編號的偏好比另一名候選人,候選人意味著低編號的候選人是兩位候選人的選民更首選.
  • 考生可以具有相同的優先編號為其他候選人, 這表明選民之間具有或其中任何偏好.

它在澳大利亞大選中觀察到 (其中投票是強制性的,在選票上的候選人都必須標註) 一些選民只是數量從第一候選人到最後,因為它們出現在選票上,而不一定表達自己的真實偏好. 這被稱為“驢投票.“

這可能是因為他們不熟悉的所有候選, 雖然在Australia`s規則,他們有他們無論如何都排名; 在某種程度上這或許也可因被迫投票, 也許這樣的選民沒有對所有的候選人的意見.

清單考生隨機, 而不是按字母順序, 最大限度地減少了考生的系統性好處誰更早排序按字母順序, 因為是用字母排序的情況下. (這也可能影響到有限的情況下對排名, 如後面將要看到的。)

(該會認為,以及為每個隨機調查中簽次序, 甚至每次投票. 對於一個手動過程,這將很可能難以管理, 但如果拼命的想要它可能用於光學讀取器計數的支持。)

In our case where compulsory voting is NOT proposed, 並在, 建議, 並不需要所有考生須註明, 似乎不太可能,任何人誰“什麼麻煩事”,以投票將不會再作出努力投票他或她的真實偏好, 這樣的驢投票應該是不太可能.

2. 伯爵

一旦投票結束在大選之夜的投票箱被打開,隨之而來的數.

理貨張應預先打印出所有的候選對, 並分發給各調查. 這樣的形式可能是這樣的:

候選對
乙多-
首選
比A
無-
偏好
更-
首選
比乙
á:Α
乙:Beta版
á: Α
乙: 伽瑪
á: Α
乙: 三角洲
á: Beta版
乙: 伽瑪
á: Beta版
乙: 三角洲
á: 伽瑪
乙: 三角洲

理貨形式將用於吻合選票批次每個輪詢, 累積總計投票, 並為返回,官為選區, 記錄結果的選區本身.

當計數投票人員檢查輪流每次投票, 並為每個候選對的理貨表相符了喜好:

  1. 如果兩個候選人 A 和候選 B 在無人盯防, 或者兩者都標相同, 進入了“無特別偏好”列理貨標誌; 否則,
  2. 對於每一個候選 A, 誰是標有號碼小於給定的候選人低 B, 或者 B 是無人盯防, 在進入理貨標誌“A 更不是首選 B“列; 否則,
  3. 對於每一個候選 A, 誰是標有數字大於給定的候選人高 B, 或者 A 是進入無人盯防的理貨標誌“B 更不是首選 A“列;

每對獲取只有一個理貨大關每次投票.

的帳簿標記在每行的偏好/非偏好的列的總數目應等於接受的選票數目相符; 這給出了一個交叉引用,以幫助識別計數差異.

為方便計的雙列基於抽籤順序上,以便於進行比較 A 與. B 只有那些在給定的候選以下候選人 A 在選票上需要檢查.

  1. 多個帳簿片可用於, 在投票官員的自由裁量權, 誰可能會選擇分批發言權, 20, 或50, 或任何選票數, 和他們組, 以及它們各自的記數單, 然後做一套類似的批處理, 直到DONE.
  2. 批量記數單指在計數發生錯誤,可以想像在一個給定批次的角度來確定, 然後只有特定的一組投票中需要進行重新計票, 而不是整個輪詢.
  3. 鑑於許多考生都會有很多對和錯的可能性更大, 分批將是一個手動過程,推薦的最佳做法.
  4. 在多個理貨片採用這種方式表決主任及助理將增加每批理貨表的計數變成綜合作用的結果投票表決的情況.
  5. 在一台計算機和光學讀出器中使用的事件, 作為每次投票時通過讀取器通過它是按照上面提到的手動過程的算法相符,並記錄. 這樣做的輸出將類似於理貨形式的報告中指出上述.
  6. 通過光學讀取計數將快速, 雖然每個輪詢閱讀器,可以用它大概是速度不夠快,一個安裝在每個投票站都可以投票中共享,在給定的車站, 每個計算各自的民意測驗單批每一次民意調查投票已關閉.
  1. 無論算作一個手動過程, 或使用計算機和光學讀取器, 對於給定的投票計數,然後傳達給選區選舉主任, 那裡的行動,然後流向.
  2. 相反,每個考生的單個值, 作為FPTP, 該報告將三個值 (“B 大於首選 A“, “A 大於首選 B,“和”無偏好“) - 對於每對.
  3. 該選區的選舉主任會再結合給定的民意調查的數量與所有其他民調累積計數為選舉區作為一個整體.
  4. 需要注意的是,需要為每個人頭只有一個計數步驟; 一旦數據被傳輸到選區選舉主任及調查擔保, 他們完成.

3. 成果

一旦該選區的計有決心,我們根據計數對排序, 然後確定整體效果 (這將是在大選之夜的初步結果,因為我們無法獲得最終的結果,直到選票到貨):

在對被排名, 或排序, 如下:

  1. 如果多數票對於給定的一對大於多數票為另一對給定的一應先於其他 (多數投票, 降);
  2. 如果多數票對於給定的一對是等於多數票的另一對:

    1. 的量,少數表決小於另一對的一對應的另一對先 (少數票, 升); 否則
    2. 如果給定對的少數票數相等,則它們保持相同的相對次序,因為它們對訊號片 (它從隨機順序在選票上取得的).

這個由降偏好強度排序對, 或, 更具體: 首先通過降低勝利的力量 (多數投票, 降), 其次是增加虧損的弱點 (少數票, 升), 第三是理貨張訂單.

理貨張訂單上指出三階排序是一個關鍵原因隨機的順序在選票上, 是有點亂.

應當觀察, 然而,, 那如果沒有孔冠軍已經有隨意性的固有程度, 不過也有道理, 在選擇任何特定的方法來打破偏好週期; 這是比已經固有的不實質性惡化.

在任何情況下, 它可以是結果的 如果沒有孔冠軍, 進而 如果大多數票值之間的平等 少數票值之間, 即使如此,並不一定會影響結果. (它可以影響結果 如果 相對 這之間的順序 特別是 2雙影響是否 無論是 of them is “;affirmed”; 當評估的最終結果。)

它也是在實際選極不可能 (除了可能考慮最低偏好的候選人時,, 誰是不太可能是一個因素,在任何情況下): 在卑詩省的選舉區, 例如, 的順序上的平均 34,000 登記選民; 如果我們得到一個 60% 投票我們將有大約 20,000 投票. 針對此特殊情況下,我們需要的考生至少有兩個不同的配對獲得, 從我們的假設 20,000 投票, 的多數票相同數量, 少數票和相同數量的.

  1. 每對建立它的兩個候選者之間的關係,其中一個候選是比另一個更優選的, 或者它們是優選的同一 (綁).
  2. 對於給定的一對由候選人 點¯x 和候選 :

    1. 如果候選人 X 是廣大考生 (並且不依賴) 那麼我們認為, X 是不是更優選 Y, 或: X → Y; 這個“更優先”的關係是傳遞的, 這意味著如果 X → Y, 和 Y → Z 然後 X → Z;
    2. 如果對綁 (“優選的一樣”) 然後 X ↔ Y. 這個關係也可傳遞, 這意味著如果 X ↔ Y, 和 Y ↔ Z 然後 X ↔ Z.

一旦 都排 (排序) 我們評估各對依次, 從偏好最強到最弱的偏好, 為了相對於其他候選排列的各個候選本身:

  1. 當我們評估每一個對我們認為的關係,是否代表衝突或其他增強了我們從以前得到的信息 (更強的偏好) 肯定對.
  2. 如果衝突,我們進一步考慮省略, 否則我們“肯定”它. 請注意,使用“首選同衝突”不止首選“,“反之亦然: X → Y, 和 X ↔ Y 不能同時肯定. 我們將只得到一個“衝突”對,其中有一個在候選排名偏好週期; 忽略衝突的雙突破任何這樣的循環.
  3. 該排名,雙理由 (打破偏好週期) 是: 更強的偏好應該戰勝較弱的偏好在任何情況下,我們不能讓他們既.

最後,我們有個別候選人的完整排名沒有偏好週期剩餘:

  1. 這將不是唯一的標識一個候選人對他們來說,沒有其他候選人更優選, 誰是那麼的排名,雙人冠軍 (和孔冠軍,以及如果在原始數據並沒有涉及該候選人的偏好週期); 否則
  2. 如果有一個以上的選綁.

4. 重新計票

目前的做法 (針對卑詩省選舉) 是,如果結果是“關閉,“這意味著中標候選人少於擊敗下一個亞軍 1/500 已接受選票, 我們會自動觸發重新計票.

這是因為,在緊密的賽程中幾票的一種方式或其他可顯著並產生完全不同的結果計數錯誤. 計應該是準確, 當然, 但錯誤確實會發生, 或糾紛可能會出現關於評價或拒絕特定的選票, 所以,如果我們比一些誤差推定利潤率接近, 我們必須在核查結果申請額外的盡職調查.

與排名對這樣的錯誤會因素到每一個候選配對. 但, 另一方面, 如果有兩個或兩個以上的候選人誰擁有選民中的支持很少, 這樣的考生很可能會爭奪最後的地方, 這意味著,對這些候選人之間的選票都應該預計將接近 - 我們不想強迫聯合國需要重新計票.

該提案, 然後, 這是一個自動重新計票將被要求,如果:

  1. 有在第一名的候選人超過一位, (領帶); 否則,
  2. 對於涉及指示贏家任何一對, 大多數票與少數票小於, 說, 1/500日接受選票的總數.

下一頁: 如何運作

分享按鈕

Condorcet Details

1. The Ballot

The proposed form of the ballot is as shown here (as discussed in the How it Works example):

Most
1
← Preferred →
2

3
Least
4
Alpha]
[party 1]
[]
[]
[]
[]
Beta
[party 3]
[]
[]
[]
[]
Gamma
Independent
[]
[]
[]
[]
Delta
[party 2]
[]
[]
[]
[]

  • For all ballots the candidates will be ordered identically but in an order randomly determined by the constituency’s Returning Officer.
Most
1
← Preferred →
2
3
Least
4
Preferred
Party
Alpha
[party 1]
[]
[]
[]
[]
[party 1]
[]
Beta
[party 3]
[]
[]
[]
[]
[party 2]
[]
Gamma
Independent
[]
[]
[]
[]
[party 3]
[]
Delta
[party 2]
[]
[]
[]
[]

  • For all ballots the candidates will be ordered identically but in an order randomly determined by the constituency’s Returning Officer.
  • For the Preferred Party section, there being no advantage to randomizing the party names, and given that they should be ordered the same on all ballots for all constituencies, an ascending alphabetic order is suggested.

Such a ballot will be compatible with an optical-reader approach, and can be adjusted as needed to accommodate particular optical-reader technology as might be employed, yet can be manually counted as well as circumstances warrant.

Instead of marking only one candidate (with an X or a tick-mark, as for FPTP) any number of candidates can be marked by filling-in the appropriate square in the column representing the voter’s preference (no more than one square per candidate).

  • These will be interpreted as the candidates being marked with the ordinal preference number associated with the given preference column.
  • All candidates need not be marked. Unmarked candidates will be regarded as if marked with the ballot’s lowest-preference option.
  • A candidate with a lower-numbered preference than another candidate means that the lower-numbered candidate is the voter’s more-preferred choice between the two candidates.
  • Candidates can have the same preference number as other candidates, indicating that a voter has no preference between or among them.

It has been observed in Australian elections (where voting is compulsory and all candidates on the ballot must be marked) that some voters just number candidates from first to last as they appear on the ballot without necessarily expressing their true preferences. This is called “Donkey Voting.”

This could be due to them not being familiar with all the candidates, though under Australia`s rules they have to rank them all anyway; it could perhaps also be due in part to being compelled to vote, and perhaps such voters have no opinion about all the candidates.

Listing the candidates randomly, instead of alphabetically, minimizes systemic benefits to candidates who sort earlier alphabetically, as would be the case with an alphabetic sort. (It also potentially affects pair ranking in limited circumstances, as will be seen later.)

(This would argue as well for randomizing the ballot order per poll, or even per ballot. For a manual process this would very likely be unmanageable, but if desperately desired it could be supported for an optical-reader count.)

In our case where compulsory voting is NOT proposed, and where, as proposed, not all candidates need to be marked, it seems unlikely that anyone who “bothers” to vote would then not make an effort to vote his or her true preferences, such that donkey voting should be unlikely.

2. The Count

Once the polls close on election night the ballot boxes are opened and the count ensues.

Tally sheets should be pre-printed showing all the candidate pairs, and distributed to each poll. Such a form might look like this:

Candidate​Pairs
B more-
preferred
than A
No-
Preference
A more-
preferred
than B
Total
A:Alpha
vs
B:Beta
A: Alpha
vs B: Gamma
A: Alpha
vs B: Delta
A: Beta
vs B: Gamma
A: Beta
vs B: Delta
A: Gamma
vs B: Delta

The tally-form would be used to tally batches of ballots for each poll, to accrue totals for the poll, and for the returning-officer for the constituency, recording the results for the constituency itself.

When counting the voting officer examines each ballot in turn, and for each candidate pair on the tally sheet tallies up the preferences:

  1. If both candidate A and candidate B are unmarked, or where both are marked the same, enters a tally-mark in the “No Preference” column; otherwise
  2. For each candidate A, who is marked with a lower number than a given candidate B, or where B is unmarked, enters a tally mark in the “A more-preferred than B” column; otherwise
  3. For each candidate A, who is marked with a higher number than a given candidate B, or where A is unmarked enters a tally mark in the “B more-preferred than A” column;

Each pair gets exactly one tally mark for each ballot.

The total number of tally marks in the preference/no-preference columns for each row should equal the number of accepted ballots tallied; this gives a cross-reference to help identify discrepancies in the count.

To facilitate the count the pairs are listed based on ballot order so that in comparing A vs. B only those candidates following the given candidate A on the ballot need be examined.

  1. More than one tally sheet can be used, at the discretion of the voting officer, who might select batches of say, twenty, or fifty, or whatever number of ballots, and group them, as well as their respective tally sheets, and then do another similar batch, until done.
  2. Batch tally sheets mean that errors occurring in the count can conceivably be identified in terms of a given batch, and then only that particular set of ballots need be recounted, rather than the entire poll.
  3. Given that with many candidates there will be a great many pairs and a greater likelihood of error, batches would be a recommended best practice for a manual process.
  4. In the event that multiple tally sheets are used in this way the voting officer and assistant will add the counts from each batch tally sheet into a combined result for the poll.
  5. In the event that a computer and optical reader are used, as each ballot is passed through the reader it is tallied and recorded according to the algorithm noted above for the manual process. The output of this would be a report similar to the tally form noted above.
  6. Counting by optical reader will be fast, and though a reader per poll could be used it is probably fast enough that one installation at each polling station could be shared among all the polls at the given station, with each counting their respective polls in a single batch per poll once the polls have closed.
  1. Regardless of whether counted as a manual process, or using a computer and optical reader, the count for the given poll is then communicated to the constituency Returning Officer, where the action then flows.
  2. Instead of a single value per candidate, as for FPTP, the report will be three values (“B more preferred than A”, “A more preferred than B,” and “No-Preference”) – for each pair.
  3. The constituency Returning Officer will then combine the given poll’s counts with those from all the other polls to accrue the counts for the electoral district as whole.
  4. Note that only one counting step is required for each poll; once the data are communicated to the constituency returning officer and the poll secured, they’re done.

3. The Outcome

Once the count for the constituency is determined we sort the pairs according to the counts, and then determine the overall results (these will be preliminary results on election night as we cannot obtain a final result until the absentee ballots arrive):

The pairs are ranked, or sorted, as follows:

  1. If the majority vote for a given pair is greater than the majority vote for another pair the given pair shall precede the other (majority vote, descending);
  2. If the majority vote for a given pair is equal to the majority vote for another pair:

    1. The pair for which the minority vote is less than the other pair shall precede the other pair (minority vote, ascending); and otherwise
    2. If the minority votes of the given pairs are equal then they retain the same relative order as they have on the tally sheet (which derives from the random order on the ballot).

This sorts the pairs by descending strength of preference, or, more specifically: firstly by decreasing strength of win (majority vote, descending), secondly by increasing weakness of loss (minority vote, ascending), and thirdly by tally-sheet order.

The noted third-order sort on tally-sheet order is a key reason for randomizing the order on the ballot, and is somewhat arbitrary.

It should be observed, however, that if there is no Condorcet winner there is already an inherent degree of arbitrariness, however well justified, in choosing any particular approach to breaking preference-cycles; this is not materially worse than that already inherent.

In any event, it can be of consequence only if there is no Condorcet winner, and then only if there is equality between the majority-vote values and between the minority-vote values, and even then does not necessarily affect the outcome. (It can affect the outcome only if the relative order between these particular two pairs affects whether or not either of them is “affirmed” when evaluating the final result.)

It is also extremely unlikely in practical elections (except possibly when considering lowest-preference candidates, who are not likely to be a factor in any case): an electoral district in BC, for example, averages on the order of 34,000 registered voters; if we get a 60% turnout we would have roughly 20,000 ballots. For this particular scenario to occur we need that at least two different pairings of candidates get, out of our assumed 20,000 ballots, exactly the same number of majority votes, and exactly the same number of minority votes.

  1. Each pair establishes a relation between its two candidates in which one candidate is more preferred than the other, or they are preferred the same (tied).
  2. For a given pair consisting of candidate X and candidate Y:

    1. If candidate X is the majority candidate (and is not tied) then we consider that X is more preferred than Y, or: X → Y; this “more preferred” relation is transitive, meaning that if X → Y, and Y → Z then X → Z;
    2. If the pair are tied (“preferred the same as”) then X ↔ Y. This relation is also transitive, meaning that if X ↔ Y, and Y ↔ Z then X ↔ Z.

Once the pairs are ranked (sorted) we evaluate each pair in turn, from strongest preference to weakest preference, in order to rank the individual candidates themselves with respect to the other candidates:

  1. As we evaluate each pair we consider whether the relation it represents conflicts with or else augments the information we’ve got from previous (stronger-preference) affirmed pairs.
  2. If it conflicts we omit it from further consideration, and otherwise we “affirm” it. Note that “more preferred than” conflicts with “preferred the same as,” and vise versa: X → Y, and X ↔ Y cannot both be affirmed. We will only get a “conflicting” pair where there is a preference cycle in the candidate ranking; omitting conflicting pairs breaks any such cycle.
  3. The Ranked-Pairs rationale (for breaking preference cycles) is that: a stronger preference should prevail over a weaker preference in any case where we can’t keep them both.

In the end we have a complete ranking of the individual candidates with no preference cycles remaining:

  1. This will either uniquely identify one candidate for whom no other candidate is more preferred, who is then the Ranked-Pairs winner (and the Condorcet winner as well if in the original data there was no preference cycle involving this candidate); and otherwise
  2. If there is more than one the election is tied.

4. Recounts

Current practice (for BC Elections) is that if the result is “close,” which means the successful candidate beats the next runner-up by less than 1/500 of the accepted ballots, we automatically trigger a recount.

This is because in a close race a counting error of a few votes one way or the other can be significant and produce an entirely different outcome. The count should be exact, of course, but errors do happen, or disputes can arise regarding the evaluation or rejection of particular ballots, so if we’re closer than some presumed margin of error, we must apply extra diligence in verifying the result.

With Ranked Pairs such errors can factor into every candidate pairing. But, on the other hand, if we have two or more candidates who have little support among the voters, such candidates are likely to be vying for last-place, which means that the votes between pairs of such candidates should all be expected to be close – and we don’t want to force un-needed recounts.

The proposal, then, is that an automatic recount would be required if:

  1. There is more than one candidate in first-place (a tie); otherwise
  2. For any pair involving the indicated winner, the majority-vote vs minority-vote is less than, say, 1/500th of the total number of accepted ballots.

Next: How It Works

Share Button