即時徑流投票 (IRV)

供參考, 這是很多人認為,當他們看到“;優先選票,“; 但它不是孔多塞/等級,雙約.

© CGP Grey, YouTube
© James Hamblin, YoutTube
  1. 一個回合投票: 選民標誌著單一選票的候選人,他或她的優先順序.
  2. 第一輪點票: 所有的選票都算, 考慮到他們的第一優先人選; 這樣會導致考生收到的多數選票, 那麼該候選人當選, 我們';重新做起來難; 否則,
  3. 隨後的計數輪: 我們排除有最低數量的選票的候選人, 重新分配這些選票在他們的下一個優先的選擇項...; 直到多數候選人確定.

問題

兩位候選人三個或更多的候選人
  • 效果很好.
  • 選擇誰是首選,受到廣大考生.
  • 選民; 全面的喜好不發揮作用. 較小的喜好有沒有效果,直到在一個給定的選票都更偏愛的候選人被淘汰, 而且只有該候選人尚未消除. (見 為什麼不通氣/ AV?“;)
  • 敏感淘汰的順序, 這可能會影響了其他考生被淘汰.
  • 擾流板的影響: 考生仍然可以失去,由於其他候選人的相似性, 雖然效果不是那麼嚴重了FPTP.
  • 選擇一個勝利者在 更好的大多數 基礎比FPTP, 但最首選的候選人仍可被淘汰, 不選, 而且“;是可能, 事實上, 最不偏好的候選人當選, 不排除群組。; 這不是一個孔多塞的方法.
  • 候選人/政黨必須呼籲,並超越他們的第一優先支持者交代.

該系統確實是一種進步多/先過去,該崗位: 這是很容易理解, 和僅稍微更複雜的做, 但我們可以很容易地與孔多塞/等級,雙顯著做的更好, 這裡提出. 如果這 最能實現, 然而,, 這;仍然是一個值得改進了多個/先過去,該崗位.

排名對和其他孔多塞的方法不要被“消滅”的候選操作 - 所有 投票偏好 所有 有效票數開始發揮作用決定結果.

下一頁: 混雜成員PR投票

分享按鈕

Instant-Runoff Voting (IRV)

For reference, this is what many people assume when they see “Preferential Ballot,” but it is NOT what Condorcet/Ranked-Pairs is about.

© CGP Grey, YouTube
© James Hamblin, YoutTube
  1. One voting round: The voter marks the candidates on a single ballot in the order of his or her preference.
  2. First counting round: All the ballots are counted, considering their first-preference candidates; if this results in a candidate receiving a majority of ballots, then that candidate is elected, and we’re done; otherwise
  3. Subsequent counting rounds: We eliminate the candidate having the lowest number of ballots, reallocating these ballots in terms of their next-preference choices … until a majority candidate is determined.

Issues

Two CandidatesThree or more Candidates
  • Works well.
  • Chooses the candidate who is preferred by the majority.
  • Voters’ full preferences do not come into play. Lesser preferences have no effect until all higher-preference candidates on a given ballot have been eliminated, and then only if that candidate is not already eliminated. (See Why not IRV/AV?”)
  • Sensitive to the order of elimination, which can affect which other candidates are eliminated.
  • Spoiler Effect: A candidate can still lose due to similarity of other candidates, though the effect is not as severe as with FPTP.
  • Chooses a winner on a better majority basis than FPTP, but a most-preferred candidate can still be eliminated, not elected, and it’s possible, in fact, that the least-preferred candidate is elected, not eliminated.  This is NOT a Condorcet method.
  • Candidates/parties must appeal-to and be accountable beyond their first-preference supporters.

This system is indeed an improvement over plurality/first-past-the-post: it is easy to understand, and only slightly more complex to do, but we can easily do significantly better with Condorcet/Ranked-Pairs, as proposed here. If this is the most we can achieve, however, it’s still a worthwhile improvement over plurality/first-past-the-post.

Ranked-Pairs and other Condorcet methods do NOT operate by “eliminating” candidates – all ballot preferences for all valid ballots come into play in determining the outcome.

Next: Mixed-Member PR Voting

Share Button