被拒絕的選票

對於我們的排名,對的分析, 我們反對的投票是完全空白, 或那些的任何偏愛非數字或一個數字之間沒有“1”和報考人數 (包容性).

該排名,雙分析不是由投票給不同的候選人相同的優先不安, 或由未指定偏好的一個或多個候選, 所以選票位居同接受不同的候選人.

對於FPTP, 我們採取了“最優先”的候選人為選票的得票該崗位的選擇. 如果有不止一個這樣的人選,我們不能指望選票的兩位候選人, 並且因此它被拒絕. 這意味著,被接受的排名對,選票可以拒絕FPTP. 因為我們只有一個“圓”為計數FPTP的, 這樣的衝突是永遠不會得到解決.

在通氣的情況下, 作為FPTP, 我們只能用一張選票,如果給定的偏好是唯一一個給定的候選人. 對於通氣, 然而,, 如果對任何給定的計數輪,我們還沒有確定的大多數獲獎者, 我們消除了最低數量的候選人, 並根據其指示下喜好重新分配此候選人的選票. 如果給定的下一個優先級是不是唯一, 然而,, 我們不能將選票分配給單一候選人, 而選票必須被拒絕.

但, 因為我們省去考生, 我們也重新評估本為準導致他們被拒絕後取消了給定的候選人都得到了解決早期,被拒絕的選票. 這意味著,一些以前被拒絕的選票可能會返回到打, 和拒絕的選票的數目可以減少在後續IRV輪.

無論是被拒絕的選票會在任何給定的選舉制度,因此處理起來是由特定的授權立法制定的規則; 然而,, 這裡的理由是試圖用一個投票,如果它是有意義的話.

這也意味著, 當有一個系統或其他的在被拒絕的選票à顯著差異, 的比較是不太蘋果對蘋果. 為了比較的目的, 然後, 這將是更好地避免出現這種差異產生的數據.

下一頁: 法律術語

分享按鈕

Rejected Ballots

For our Ranked-Pairs analysis, we reject ballots that are entirely blank, or those for which any preference is non-numeric or is a number not between “1” and the number of candidates (inclusive).

The Ranked-Pairs analysis is not disturbed by ballots giving different candidates the same preference, or by not-specifying a preference for one or more candidates, so ballots ranking different candidates the same are accepted.

For FPTP, we take the “most-preferred” candidate as the ballot’s first-past-the-post choice. If there is more than one such candidate we cannot count the ballot for either candidate, and it is therefore rejected. This means that ballots that were accepted for Ranked Pairs can be rejected for FPTP. Since we only have one “round” of counting for FPTP, such a conflict is never resolved.

In the case of IRV, as for FPTP, we can only use a ballot if the given preference is unique to a given candidate. For IRV, however, if on any given counting round we have not yet determined a majority winner, we eliminate the lowest-count candidate, and re-allocate this candidate’s ballots according to their indicated next-preferences. If the given next-preference is not-unique, however, we cannot assign the ballot to a single candidate, and the ballot must be rejected.

But, since we’re eliminating candidates, we also re-evaluate earlier-rejected ballots in case ambiguities that caused them to be rejected have been resolved upon the elimination of the given candidates. This means that some previously rejected ballots might be returned to play, and the number of rejected ballots can be reduced in subsequent IRV rounds.

Whether rejected ballots would be handled thus in any given electoral system is up to the rules established by the particular enabling legislation; however, the rationale here is to attempt to use a ballot if it is meaningful to do so.

This also means that, when there is a significant difference in rejected ballots between one system or another, the comparisons are not quite apples-to-apples. For comparison purposes, then, it would be better to avoid data where such discrepancies occur.

Next: Legalese

Share Button